Roasting a whole hog, step by step | Food Production and Preservation | Forums

A A A

Please consider registering

Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?
sp_Feed F-Food-Production
Roasting a whole hog, step by step
leroyj
Green Horn
Members
Forum Posts: 74
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
17 Sep ’12 - 2:34 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print

OK, so I can't figure out how to post individual photos, so will have to do some homework. Here is the Flikr link of the event:

I've been roasting whole hogs in different ways for about 15 years, mostly at family BBQ's, graduations etc. Nothing professional whatsoever. I've learned something new each time I've done it, and by no means is it a perfected technique. Different methods I've done are the Kahlua Hawaiian style (buried pig wrapped in laa laa leaves), Spit roasted (manual) and modified chinese/cuban box style.

There are pro's & cons of each style. Kahlua is by far the easiest to do, but doesn't give you the variety of flavors/textures. Spit roasting manually is extremely time consuming, using a powered rotisserie is much easier, but the hardware is very expensive ($1500 for anything over 75 lbs.) The chinese box is a good method, but doesn't give the smoke flavor that I like.

My goal is to keep the method cheap, primitive and simple. For this, I've gone with the improvised chinese/cuban box technique, and here are some pictures of the process I use:

Tools & Materials list:

For the cooking box itself

48 Cinder blocks (the cheapest you can get)

1 roll of Costco Aluminum Foil

1 Roll stainless steel welding wire

Pliers

4 pairs work gloves

1/8 cord hardwood firewood

1 bag charcoal

Soaked smoking chips (mesquite, cedar, apple etc.)

Steel Frame (custom build)

Saw Horses

For Food Prep

8 Foot folding table

Table Cloths

Large cookie sheets & metal bins for processing